Cornwall Youth Cricket Festival

Cornwall Youth Cricket Festival

held annually at Penryn

Cornwall Youth Cricket Festival

FESTIVAL 2017 : Sunday 6th to Friday 11th August
at St Gluvias Cricket Club, Penryn College and Penryn RFC


President: David Meneer 

Chair: Louise Casterton   email:   01326 753923 / 07896 241029

Secretary: Richard Bannister   email:   07791 219656

Treasurer: Peter Hesketh   email:   01326 375517   07896 957879

Bill Williams (Grounds), John Molden (Umpires), Mark Mitchell (Competitions), 

Phil Hinchley, Mandy Hiscock, Barry Raiker



Schedules 2016:   Click here

                                                                            2015 Winners:               Under 11       Truro

                                                                                                          Under 13       Not completed

                                                                                                          Under 15       Fair Oak

                                                                                                          Under 17       Sparsholt & Fair Oak 


                                                                            2014 Winners:              Under 11       Walmley A

                                                                                                         Under 13       Truro

                                                                                                         Under 15       Sparsholt & Fair Oak

                                                                                                         Under 17       Walmley C





           Poor weather dominated much of the Cornwall Youth Cricket Festival, with two events, the Under 15s and Under 17s, having their finals days washed out for the first time in the tournament’s 26-year history.  There was still some great encouragement for Cornish cricket, though, as the first girls’ tournament was staged on the Tuesday, with St Erme coming out as clear victors.  Seven teams took part in this Under 13 six-a-side event, including St Austell, Falmouth, Grampound Road, St Just, Newquay and visitors Walmley CC (Birmingham), who were defeated 165 to 117 in the final.
 There was again some floodlit cricket, kindly sponsored by May-Gurney, Jewson Ltd and Ellis Electrical.  Though the Under 17 competition remained incomplete, two exciting evenings of play took place and there was an adult ‘friendly’, as hosts St Gluvias overcame their guests Walmley on Sunday night.  Paul CC reached the Under 13 final, which was also abandoned, but were comfortably beaten by Walmley on overall run rate for the tournament.  The 31-team Under 11 event was largely played out, but rain again prevented a conclusion so, later in the week, various games were fitted in, resulting in the following: Paul A won the Silver Plate (runners-up were Grampound Road A), Walmley C beat newcomers Tregony for the Bronze Plate and St Gluvias conquered Ladock to take the Bowl.  Truro eventually beat Perranporth in the main (Shield) final on 7 September, at Truro, to take the title for the third time in four years.
 CYCF officials were obviously disappointed with the effect of the continuing dreadful summer of weather, but were heartened by the record-shattering 83 teams which entered and played.  That’s an increase of 11 on last year’s previous high of 65, even without the new girls’ event.  The organisers would also like to thank the many club officials and supporters who offered tremendous support and understanding in the most trying of circumstances.  So we now look forward with optimism (don’t we always!) to the 2013 event, when the Festival will run from Sunday 11th to Friday 16th August.




Quick Links






Contact Us


Cornwall Cricket Board Ltd Office , Fal Building,  College Road,  Truro,  Cornwall,  TR1 3XX.  Tel:  01872 267138